What’s All This Then!?!?!?

About This Blog

The Short of It

This is a blog about information science.

The Long of It

Specifically this is a blog about my personal experiences pursuing a Masters in Library Information Science from Syracuse University through their online distance learning program.  Even more specifically this is a blog about understanding information science through the lens of political science and the law.

About Me

The Short of It

Please visit my website: http://mjambros.mysite.syr.edu/ as I am quite proud to have designed it myself using html code and CSS.

The Long of It

In a lot of ways I have the soul of a cranky 80-year old man – but instead of yelling at the neighborhood kids to get off the front lawn I yell at the T.V.  More specifically, I yell at the news.  I look forward to Sunday morning’s political roundtables like I used to look forward to Saturday morning cartoons as a kid.  There is just something so absurd and incredibly entertaining about a group of highly educated and supposedly intelligent people sitting around to disagree about whether or not Romney strapping his dog to his car on summer vacation should and or will have an effect on the election of the President of the United States.  While not one for drama or gossip in my personal life, political fracases fascinate me.  Don’t get me wrong, a part of me does lament the rise of the political pundit and their often inflammatory opinions in lieu of actual facts and information but another part of me, wants to celebrate each and every national drama that plays out in both traditional news media outlets and social media platforms. My decision to pursue a degree in information science therefore is due to my fascination with how the information age is transforming the political (and legal) landscape of this country and the world.  I want to understand how a person’s blog, Facebook status, and tweets become little streams of data that merge with other little streams of data to become a part of a national conversation.  I want to understand how people gather and consume information, how they convey that information to others, and how they use that information to make decisions.  Decisions that range in scope from whether or not they buy a bottle of water vs. quench their thirst at a water fountain –  to whether or not they vote and who they vote for.

Leave a Reply

